Home Hotspots Central Diversity Honors Returns to Orlando

Diversity Honors Returns to Orlando

Awards recognition dinner honors those who go above and beyond for the LGBT community

Recently, the GLBT Community Center and the Harvey Milk Foundation announced the recipients of this years “Orlando Diversity Honors”. These honors are bestowed each year to individuals and/or corporations who have gone above and beyond in the pursuit of LGBTQ Equality.
The Diversity Honors Gala will be held at Orchid Garden on Church Street in downtown Orlando on Friday, May 12 from 7:00 – 11:00 p.m. and will feature a cocktail reception with the award recipients, a four course sit down dinner, a silent auction, and the awards ceremony. This year the event will be hosted by Scott Maxwell, columnist for the Orlando Sentinel.
This year’s honorees are:
LIFETIME ACHEIVEMENT AWARD – Lt. Jim Young, Orlando Police Department and OPD LGBT Liaison.

LGBT ALLY AWARD – Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs

LGBT ALLY AWARD – Orlando City Soccer Club

CHAMPION OF EQUALITY AWARD – Barbara Poma, Owner, Pulse Nightclub
Past recipients of Diversity Honors have included: Mayor Buddy Dyer, Commissioner Patty Sheehan, Clerk of Courts Tiffany Moore Russell, Mary Meeks Esq., Orlando Sentinel Columnist Scott Maxwell, Equality Florida’s Gina Duncan, Orange County Comptroller Martha O. Haynie, and  9th Circuit Court Judge Bob Leblanc, among others.
Tickets are $125 per person or a table of 10 for $1500 and are available by visiting http://www.TheCenterOrlando.org/events

Exit mobile version